New Mexico's Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed an important piece of legislation into law. The new bill (SB-323) is aimed at decriminalizing the possession of personal-use quantities of cannabis by adults.
The new law is expected to take effect on July 01, 2019 and will fully or partially decriminalize low-level cannabis possession offenses and reduce penalties. As per the details of the new law, a person found guilty of possession of up to 1/2 ounce of cannabis for the first time will face criminal misdemeanor and will be required to serve up to 15 days in jail and pay a fine of up to $50 - depending on the "penalty assessment". In case, a person is found guilty of possessing greater amounts of cannabis or is found guilty of committing subsequent offenses, will face possible jail time. It should be kept in mind that Mexico police department has made more than 3500 cannabis possession arrests in the year 2016 alone.
New Mexico is not the only US state to have passed such decriminalizing laws, 23 other US states including District of Columbia has also partially or fully decriminalized or legalized the adult use and possession of cannabis.