- Alzheimer's disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn's disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV or AIDS
- Huntington's disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson's disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
*Legislation (LD 1539) approved on July 9, 2018 amends the state law so that a physician at his or her sole discretion may recommend cannabis to any patient for which he/she believes it will benefit.
PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS
Two and one-half ounces
Yes, patients may possess no more than six mature marijuana plants.
STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES ALLOWED
Yes, a minimum of eight. (Lawmakers on July 9, 2018 approved legislation raising this total to as many as 14 dispensaries statewide.
STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES OPERATIONAL
MEDICAL MARIJUANA STATUTES
- Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §2423-D (2010)
- Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §§2422; 2425 (2010)
- Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, § 2383-B(5), (6) (1999) (amended 2001)
- Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, § 2383-B(3)(e) (amended 2001)
Yes, primary caregiver is a person providing care for the registered patient. The caregiver must be 21 years of age or older. Starting in the fall of 2018, caregivers will be allowed to treat as many patients as they can from their limited harvest and hire as many employees as needed.
ESTIMATED NUMBER OF REGISTERED PATIENTS
Yes, authorizes visiting qualifying patient with valid registry identification card (or its equivalent), to engage in conduct authorized for the registered patient (the medical use of marijuana) for 30 days after entering the State, without having to obtain a Maine registry identification card. Visiting qualifying patients are not authorized to obtain in Maine marijuana for medical use.